Famous Last Words

Standard

I was listening to Radio 4 this morning (no, I’m not sick, honest!) and they had Mary Berry on ‘Inheritance Tracks’. It’s basically when the guest picks one song they inherited from their parents, and then one that they want to pass down.

It got me thinking… I am not old enough yet to have a song to hand down! But my parents brought me up around music and many happy memories in my childhood had music in them. So there are three songs I want to share with you today! Enjoy a little trip down my memory lane…

Number 1, I inherited from my daddy. I am a true daddy’s girl and we were, and still are, close. My dad is a very emotional man, and has always wanted the very best for me in my life. Whenever this song came on the radio, my dad used to say, listen to the lyrics, I want you to find a man who treats you like this. Years on, I’ve found that man, but every time I hear this song I thank my lucky stars that I have a father who wanted me to be truly happy.

‘Born to Run’ by Bruce Springsteen

And the lyrics that are important:

Together Wendy we’ll live with the sadness
I’ll love you with all the madness in my soul
Someday girl I don’t know when were gonna get to that place
Where we really want to go and well walk in the sun
But till then tramps like us baby we were born to run

Song number 2 I inherited from my mum. I will write a proper post about my mum at some point, but this is one of the really good memories I have of her. My mum is really fun and can be a real laugh, and I could have picked lots of songs as the soundtrack to us dancing around the kitchen or singing at the top of our voices. My mum has given me my sense of fun and my sense of humour. She has a really naughty streak and an infectious giggle. This song comes from her era of music and so we have a huge family attachment to the music (and the subsequent movie!). So, for teaching me my sense of fun:

‘Dancing Queen’ by Abba

The third song is really a lullaby to me. My grandma used to sing it when I slept over at hers and even just hearing the tune brings a lump to my throat. My grandma died a number of years ago and I miss her every day. We were very close and I miss her, Sainsbury’s shopping trips and unwavering faith.

‘Vespers’ by Christopher Robin (Winnie the Pooh)

I hope you’ve enjoyed my little musical road trip! Let me know what songs you’ve inherited.

X

Leave a Reply

