Late Night Rambling (True Love?)

Standard

In what should go down in history as the most heart-warming film of all time, Love Actually, Karen (played by the delectable Emma Thompson) talks of Joni Mitchell; “I love her and true love lasts a lifetime. Joni Mitchell is the woman who taught your cold English wife how to feel.”

I’m hopefully not cold, but whenever I am desperate, and so slink back into the comfort of my first (musical, at least) true love, I can hear this comment in my head. Frank Turner might be the man who taught me how to feel. I don’t remember how I found his music – I was 17 when he released his first album, and I think a boy must have introduced me. If you haven’t listened to any of his stuff before, do it now! I’m a sucker for boys and guitars (and facial hair!) anyway, but this particular boy has a way with words that find their place right in the centre of whatever mess I’m currently in.

And God only knows right now, I’m the biggest mess I’ve ever been.

So here are two songs, with accompanying lyrics, to get me through another impossible night. Enjoy.

The Way I Tend To Be



“Some mornings I pray for evening,
For the day to be done.
Some summer days I hide away
And pray for rain to come.
It turns out hell will not be found
Within the fires below,
But in making do and muddling through
When you’ve nowhere else to go.

But then I remember you,
And the way you shine like truth in all you do.
And if you remembered me,
You could save me from the way I tend to be.”

I Am Disappeared



“Amy worked in a bar in Exeter
I went back to her house and I slept beside her
She woke up screaming in the middle of the night
Terrified of her own insides
Dreams of pirate ships and Patty Hearst
Breaking through a life over rehearsed
She can’t remember which came first
The house the home or the terrible thirst
She keeps having dreams

And on the worst days
When it feels like life weighs ten thousand tonnes
She’s got her cowboy boots and car keys on the bed stand
So she can always run
She can get up, shower in half an hour
She’d be gone”

X

Leave a Reply

