A Different Goodbye

Standard

To people who don’t have animals, the relationship between owner and pet must seem ludicrous. All that baby talk, all the money spent, not to mention the hours of worry and the emergency vet trips. And the thing is, I could wax lyrical about the wonders of a relationship with an animal; but you either get it (and therefore will understand my pain), or you won’t (and never will).

I have a beautiful horse, P. She came to me from a charity at 9months old. She is now 4. I have taught her everything she knows, but she has taught me so much more. She is my best friend.

Today, I have made the decision to send her back to the charity. I can no longer afford her, both financially but also in time and energy. My heart is broken in two, but for all sorts of reasons, this is right for us both.

I will miss my girl with all I have.

I hate being an adult.

X

3 responses »

  1. I feel your pain. I waited my whole life to have a horse and I was finally able to buy one once I was out of the Army. I named her “Dream” because I felt like a dream of mine was being fulfilled. I had to give her away before I moved to Arizona because I couldn’t afford to take her with me. I gave her to one of my friends, so at least I had the comfort of knowing that she would be taken care of but I still miss her. I plan on having another horse at some point, but with the cost of caring for a horse, I’m not sure when that will be. Will you ever get to visit your horse in the future?

    • I hope so. Thankfully we still have other horses so I won’t be out of the lifestyle completely (though we had another put down today! Not a good week…).

      They are just the most spectacular animals.

      • Oh my goodness, I’m so sorry to hear about that! I know it’s gotta be really tough to do something like that.

        There’s something downright mystical about horses! I can’t put my foot on it but the way I feel around horses is just hard to explain. For me, they are a source of peace and a way for me to ground myself whenever nothing else will help. I get so angry at people whenever they abuse their horses for not listening. Most of the time it’s the rider’s error, not the horse’s. That’s a whole other topic though and I’m sure you know what I’m talking about, haha.

        That’s awesome that you have other horses! I hope you start feeling better soon 🙂

Leave a Reply

