Permission To Be Healthy

Standard

This is so helpful to read. I love the quote from her therapist.

The Memoir of Me

There was a time in my life where I thought I would never graduate high school, never get married, never have kids or see my sister walk down the aisle. There was a time when I couldn’t even begin to imagine that one day I’d be sitting here, writing an essay about hope and recovery: two things that were foreign concepts until only a short time ago.

As someone who’s suffered from depression, self-harm, anorexia, anxiety and suicidal tendencies since I was 16 years old, I often find myself slipping into these negative mindsets—skipping meals and fantasizing about hurting myself. However, the difference between where I was and where I am now is simple: I no longer view happiness as a failure.

How could that be, you might ask? How could someone so young, so naive about the world and all it has to offer be so bitter about happiness…

View original post 1,465 more words

Leave a Reply

