Sweet Child O’Mine

Video

I went home to see my parents this weekend – we had a lovely day together. When we were in the car driving, I was messing with his CDs and changing the music – Jack Johnson, Dire Straits, Guns n’ Roses. Picking CDs of music that I’ve helped them love, and CDs of music that he taught me all about.

On the Guns n’ Roses CD, this song played:

Now and then when I see her face
She takes me away to that
special place
And if I stared too long
I’d probably break down and cry

Sweet child o’ mine
Sweet love of mine

…and as we were driving, my dad randomly blurted out that this reminded me of their 1991 tour, when “you were my sweet child o’ mine”.

Lots of songs make me cry, the emotions well up inside me. This one didn’t, before, but then he said this and as the rest of the song played out, I choked back tears as he told me how he used to dance with me to this song to make me laugh.

How could I have had such a split childhood? How could I have been his happy, giggling babe in arms being swung around, and yet also a damaged, broken little girl? How is that possible?

And if I stared too long, I’d probably break down and cry.

x

Leave a Reply

