Managing the Dread of a Therapist’s Vacation

Standard

I’m struggling to get through the week in between sessions without her right now, so surviving another holiday seems impossible (even when we do contact each other during her break), but this is helpful to read when considering holidays and breaks from therapy.

Dr. Gerald Stein

512px-Caparica_December_2011-1a

Vacations should be care free. I suspect they were in the days before therapists and portable phones. Now, if you want some freedom from responsibility, limits must be set on how much of your “work” you take with you. Therapy patients, however, have little choice in the matter. After many years of hearing my clients’ concerns about my departures, I realize to some of them my farewells sounded as if I were saying, “Goodbye and good luck.” Today I shall address the problem of vacations from the therapist’s side of the treatment process.

I saw those interruptions as both essential to my well being and as an opportunity for therapeutic growth in my clientele. You might not agree with how I approached the issue while I was in practice, but I hope you understand my reasons.

The blogger What It Takes To Be Me, explains the client’s dilemma in this…

View original post 1,853 more words

Leave a Reply

