Meeting The Many Faces of DID

Standard

This was really healing to read.

Things I Learned In Therapy

imagesEvery month I go to a drop-in peer support group for people with Dissociative Identity Disorder (DID). I started going in September, after I was discharged from a hospitalization that was three days of hell. I was desperate to figure out how to work within this system of ours and I thought that talking to other people who were dealing with the same issues might be a good resource. My first meeting was terrifying. I didn’t know what I was going to walk into and I had lots of pretty scary ideas. I wasn’t wrong, but I wasn’t right, either. In the last six months I’ve met many people with DID who are as varied as humanity itself.

This particular group tends to be mostly females, but there are certainly males that attend. I’ve met people that are on full disability, barely able to string sentences together, struggling to survive each day. I’ve…

View original post 656 more words

One response »

Leave a Reply

